Benefit #2-AAU Sullivan Awards at New York Athletic Club

Posted in Uncategorized by blogwing on 04/14/2010

Our friends and Olympians Tim Morehouse and Sarah Hughes will be Presenting tonight at the 80th Annual AAU Sullivan Awards at New York Athletic Club

Known as the “Oscar” of sports awards, and older than The Heisman, the AAU Sullivan Award honors the outstanding amateur athlete in the United States. It has been presented annually by the AAU since 1930 as a salute to founder and past president of the Amateur Athletic Union.   Hosting this years award show will be Olympic Silver Medalist Tim Morehouse with Olympic Figure Skating Champion Sarah Hughes presenting the award.

The finalists are Clint Moore (Baseball), Amy Pamiero-Winters (Ultra Marathoning), Megan Hodge (Volleyball), Erin Hamlin (Luge), Angela Blizzari (Cross Country) and Zak Boggs (Soccer).  These talented athletes were nominated for their outstanding athletic abilities and accomplishments as well as their qualities of sportsmanship, leadership & character that are evident in his/her lifestyle.The top 14 nominees were selected from submissions to the AAU Sullivan Committee. Then America voted for their favorite athlete online at USA Today combined with ballots from National Governing Bodies’, Members of the Media and D1 Sports Information Directors.

The Amateur Athletic Union has presented this award annually since 1930 when the honor was given to Robert T. Jones for Golf. Since then many exceptional amateur athletes have been awarded the Sullivan title including: Wilma Rudolph (Athletics), Mark Spitz (Swimming), Greg Louganis (Diving), Jackie Joyner-Kersey (Athletics), Jim Abbott (Baseball), Peyton Manning (Football), Michelle Kwan (Figure Skating), Michael Phelps (Swimming), Jessica Long (Paralympian), Tim Tebow (Football) and in 2008 America’s Sweetheart, Shawn Johnson (Gymnastics), was presented with this award.

This year’s winner will be announced on April 14th at the ceremony taking place at the New York Athletic Club.  The event will include an autograph session with the athletes from 5:30-6:30pm, buffet and beverages from 6pm-7pm and award ceremony starting at 7:15pm.

To Purchase Tickets:


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: